Denver Never Stops Moving at the Denver Zoo

I spent Sunday at the zoo! I can’t remember the last time I went to a zoo, I am  not a big fan, animals taken out of captivity, put in small spaces, you get the idea. I decided to go and went with an open mind. I had heard some really good things about the Denver Zoo, and thought I would go and find out for myself.

I didn’t have to pay for parking, that was unexpected and appreciated. As I walked into the zoo, my first impression was that I was at a park not a Zoo. The entire Zoo, has been left in what looks like a wild state. Trees, overgrown grass, totally natural habitat. The Zoo and the Museum of Nature and Science are both situated on City Park. City Park reminds me of  Central Park in New York City. The past blog I did on Washington Park is across the lake from the Zoo and Museum. There are walking and bike riding paths all around the park. Don’t worry if you didn’t bring your bike, and you want to, you can rent a bike and go for a ride around the park.

20130714_145711

This is the mission statement of the Denver Zoo, I love it

Secure a better world for animals through human understanding.

They mean it, I was so impressed with the way the animals are cared for. The zoo spans 80 acres within Denver’s historic City Park. This is in the middle of downtown Denver and you would never know it. Except when you look up occasionally and see a tall building!

I don’t like the idea of keeping animals in captivity, but if we don’t see the animals, and understand them we will be so far removed from them we have no compassion.

20130714_141514

There are 3,500 different animals, representing over 650 species. Amur leopards, king cobras, black rhinos, coral reef fish, elephants, zebras, vampire bats, gorillas, giraffes  and more.  This guy came up to me while I was watching him, curious no doubt

Some of the species at the zoo are endangered or extinct. The Denver Zoo continues to foster an education-based approach to the appreciation of wildlife and conservation of our precious natural resources.

20130714_140008-1

20130714_140500-1

I wanted to watch this show, and see exactly how the elephant was treated. They don’t make the elephant or any of the other animals do anything that they don’t want to do. So, if you are looking for an elephant that will do tricks for you, this is not the place. This elephant, Hercules, came from another place that didn’t have a water pond deep enough for him to immerse himself. They said that they will find him in the pond totally immersed with only his truck sticking out! He loves the water. They teach the elephants to open their mouths only so that the dentist can see their back molars.

20130714_120522

There is a train that goes around part of the park. The kids love it!

The Greenest Zoo (This is taken directly from the Zoo’s site)

At Denver Zoo our goal is to operate in the most environmentally, socially and economically friendly manner possible. Through the prevention of pollution, continuous improvement of our operations to ensure
sustainability and meeting or exceeding all environmental regulations, Denver Zoo is taking positive action to secure a healthy planet for both animals and humans.

To achieve our environmental goals, Denver Zoo has created our Sustainable Management System (SMS). This system allows the zoo to identify, evaluate, manage and improve the zoo’s sustainability performance. Our awarded Workplace Conservation Committee is responsible for implementing our Sustainable Management System throughout the zoo and encourages all employees to contribute to improving and expanding our SMS.

20130714_142323

After spending the morning walking around I was hungry. I really didn’t think that there would be much a a selection for me, I am vegan. I was pleasantly surprised there was more than one choice!!!

20130714_132051

I don’t usually take pictures of the food that I am eating but I felt this would really show the quality of the food here. Plus it was not expensive. Unlike the mouse house in Orlando

This is a rice bowl with seitan. There was also a noodle bowl, spring rolls and salads!! It was really good.

20130714_115643

20130714_123542-1

You have to look close, but the Gorilla is looking at me through the leaves of the bush! Got tired of the game and went to sit down

20130714_123703-1

Early Explorer Expeditions offers authentic play-based experiences for young children and families to help forge connections with animals while exploring the natural world. Classes can be purchased individually or as a continuing series. You will need to register both children and adult participants for each program.

You will need to register both children and adult participants for each program.

Children 16 and younger are not allowed in the park without adult supervision.

20130714_130612

For more information about the Zoo check out their website

http://www.denverzoo.org/


Leave a Reply

